Shaker Village of Pleasant Hill
Originally built by the Shakers in 1812, the Carpenter’s Shop has served as the main gift shop for Shaker Village at Pleasant Hill since the village’s restoration in 1966. As part of a campaign to improve the guest experience at the Village, the interior of the Carpenter’s Shop was reconfigured for a new Visitor’s Center for all guests arriving at the Village.
A single concierge desk at the north end of the building functions as the check-in desk for overnight guests, ticket sales for Village tours and riverboat rides, and the information desk for all of the activities that are hosted on the property. The center portion of the building includes interactive displays that cover the history of the Shakers, their time in Kentucky, and how their legacy lives on today. The south portion of the building has a small cafe and gift sales area. Shaker Village’s main call center is located in the basement.
Omni’s work included conceptual design for the entire visitor experience, design and detailing of new furniture, casework, and retail displays executed in an aesthetic sympathetic to the Shaker tradition. Omni also closely collaborated with Yonder Interactivists who were responsible for development of the interactive displays, and the digital tools used to enhance the guest experience.